San Diego Unified School District logo
Board Actions
for December 11, 2007

Luis Acle, John de Beck, Shelia Jackson, Mitz Lee and Katherine Nakamura present.

View the associated board reports.

The board made the following appointments/reassignments 5-0, with effective dates to be determined:

Podhorsky, Dr. Charles – from Interim Principal, Hoover High School, to Principal, Hoover High School.

Vera, Elba – from Assistant Principal, Oak Valley Middle School, Poway Unified School District, to Vice Principal, Hoover High School.

Klein, Harlan – from Principal, Toler Elementary, to Principal, Innovation Middle School.

Bagula, Fabiola – from Vice-Principal, Balboa Elementary School, to Principal, Balboa Elementary School.

The board made the following appointments/reassignments 4-1, with effective dates to be determined:

Caballero, Edward – from Administrator, Office of Parent, Community and Student Engagement, to Principal, Sherman Elementary.

Major agenda items:

The Board voted 5-0 to:

  • Receive annual financial statements for fiscal year 2006-07, presented by external auditor Vicenti, Lloyd & Stutzman.

The Board voted 4-1 with Jackson in opposition to:

  • Approve revisions to Grade 8 promotion/retention policy.

The Board voted 4-0 with De Beck absent to:

  • Consider at its January, 2008, meeting, changes to Board Policies F-2600 and H-3500, and Administrative Procedures 4255 and 6156 regarding parental notification and early release of students to obtain confidential medical services.
  • Approve Provisional Internship Permits for teacher assignment to severe shortage area.
  • Adopt Memoranda of Understanding between the San Diego Unified School District and:
    • San Diego Education Association (SDEA)
    • California School Employees Association (CSEA) Office-Technical Business Services (OTBS), Chapter 788
    • California School Employees Association (CSEA) Paraeducators, Chapter 759
    • California School Employees Association (CSEA) Operations-Support Services (OSS), Chapter 724
    • San Diego City Schools Police Officers Association (POA) regarding disaster relief leave and additional personal necessity leave for employees adversely affected by the 2007 San Diego County fires
    • San Diego Education Association (SDEA), as a result of the San Diego County wildfires of 2007, providing long-term visiting teachers pay for visiting teachers and Child Development Center visiting teachers extending the excessing process certificated evaluations timelines due to the District’s closure.
  • Adopt a tentative agreement with the San Diego Education (SDEA), as the exclusive representative of the Certificated Bargaining Unit, for the 2007-08 reopener negotiations of Article 7 – Wages and Article 9 – Health and Welfare.
  • Accept the School Assistance and Intervention Team (SAIT) Third Progress Reports for Marshall Elementary School, Mann School of Expedition, and Roosevelt Middle School.
  • Appoint Meghann Hughes to the Community Advisory Committee for Special Education.
  • Reappoint Leon Brooks and Jesus Garcia to the Independent Citizens Oversight Committee (ICOC) for a three-year period ending December 2010.

The Board voted 3-1 with Acle in opposition and De Beck absent to:

  • Certification of the Fiscal Year 2007-08 First Interim Financial Report in compliance with Education Code Section 42130.

Annual Meeting of the Board of Education

  • The board voted 5-0 to readopt the Bylaws of the Board of Education
  • The board conducted elections of officers for the Board of Education. Katherine Nakamura was elected President and John De Beck was elected Vice President.

Recognition and Presentations:

The Board voted 5-0 to approve:

  • Resolution in the Matter of Recognition of January 15, 2008, as the Birthday of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Presentation of colors: Madison High School Junior ROTC.